Makers

I spent about an hour on the phone with my mom today, which in itself isn’t unusual. Moreover, we were discussing the great documentary that just ran on TV called Makers that focuses on the last 50 years of the feminist movement. If you haven’t seen it yet, take some time this weekend to watch it online. It’s important.

My mom and I talked about my dad, and how progressive he (comparatively) was as a father and a husband, how my mom wasn’t particularly a feminist or strong-willed woman in her early years, and how her life experiences shaped and changed her over time. It’s all fascinating to me; the nurture to my nature.

I’m so thankful that I was raised by two people with values based on logic and equality. It made me who I am. It has also caused me a lot of trouble.

I think I’ve been irresponsible in the past by passing off “feminism” as something that doesn’t apply to me or my generation. The fact remains is at times I have been the victim of domestic violence, sexual harassment, discrimination, and the dreaded “glass ceiling” in my 37 years.

I want you all to know that I had those experiences. If I don’t acknowledge those things, share my experiences with all my friends regardless of their gender, and make a concerted effort to help lift up other women, I am turning my back on the very movement that quite frankly I have (up until now) helped to stall.

So, there you have it. I’m a real woman in 2013. I certainly don’t let adversity stop me, but I will no longer say it’s not there. I owe the younger women who are coming up and of age this truth.

Leave a Reply

