NYE

Today I have been running a bunch of errands…stop number 45 was at the Aldi.  I was shopping for some last-minute New Year’s treats when I overheard a woman in the frozen food section having an all out, get down, drag ’em out fight on her cell phone with someone over custody of her child.

Wow.

I spend a great deal of my time thinking about the family that I want but do not have.  I walked out of there with the reminder that, as cliché as it seems, everything happens for a reason.  I’m without a child, but I am also not bringing one into the world surrounded by a bunch of  misery.  And, as fate unfolded over the last few years, I probably avoided that type of situation by the skin of my teeth.  God, I am so thankful things turned out the way they did.  Somebody must be looking out for me up there.

Happy New Year to me.

Leave a Reply

