Recuerdo

I’m going to get serious, so, watch out.

There is a lot of change in my life right now (big announcements forthcoming…maybe tomorrow!) Whenever “big” changes happen, or, more correctly, whenever I see the future looming ahead in all it’s uncertainty and hopeful glory, I can’t help but think about the past.  I think about where I came from and the people I knew, and who we have become, and the people who aren’t with me anymore.  I grew up in the suburbs; pretty cookie cutter place not unlike INSERT NAME OF PLANNED COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT YOU ARE FAMILIAR WITH HERE, and I can pretty much count on one hand those of us who chose the road less traveled in life after high school.

There was a girl in the marching band when I was in high school…I remember her.  Her name was Stephanie. We weren’t friends, but I knew her.  Shy and sweet- a good girl.  When there are 800 kids in your graduating class, remembering someone is (sadly) kind of a big deal.  Flash forward many years…I came to find out last year that she passed away.  She took her own life at the age of 34.  She was married, living in Chicago, working as a designer and making amazing music.  All wonderful things.  To go against the grain, to choose to be an artist from where she and I came from…that’s another big deal.  There’s very little clapping in the stands for that.  Except from me.  That was me too.

I just want to put it here on the Internet, this memory of her from my head, as a memento, to creep out through the ether into the collective consciousness.  I want you, random person, friend or colleague, to read this.  Her life was important.  It matters.  I’m so proud that she went on from high school to be a musician, because I envy that talent and so admire all of you who choose that creative path.

Her husband is participating in the American Foundation of Suicide Prevention’s “Out of the Darkness Community Walk” in Chicago on September 25th.  If you’d like to consider donating to this cause, you can find out more info here.

Recuerdo= I remember. Here’s to remembering the past;  here’s to new beginnings.

Leave a Reply

