Me

Hi all.  As you can see it’s been a long time since I have posted.  I never made a strict personal commitment as far as how often I would blog or exactly what it would be about, but I certainly have not intended it to be so few and far between.  I feel like I have missed some chances at documenting some really interesting moments in my life…and some non-interesting ones as well. I had the opportunity to go to SXSW this past March with Moontoast which was quite the whirlwind experience.  All my past lives seemed to converge all at once, which was shockingly awesome.  I felt like I had truly come full circle.  Oh, I also worked my ass off. 😉

But, back to the title of this post.

I’ve been lucky enough to get really involved with the technology community here in Nashville through my job and various community/volunteer endeavors.  We’re still growing…which means lots of growing pains and changes.  It has been very interesting being a part of the evolution and learning about what makes this city tick in general.  Everyone seems to have an opinion on where “we” are going and what “we” need to be doing.  I wonder what we’ll think of these various groups, events, people and opinions a year (or ten) from now.

I made a conscious decision to dial down much of my volunteerism for the time being to concentrate on my personal life and my career.  To be very candid, I have spent more time in my life in service of others than of myself. Although this may sound ideal and selfless, it is, in the end, no good for you or me.  To lift others up, I need to lift myself up first.  I do have various ideas, events, plans, etc. swimming around in my head, but…I am trying to set them aside for now.

One of the reasons for this shift has to do with family.  My father was recently diagnosed with liver cancer, which came as a huge blow to my entire family.  He has beaten cancer before, but it was quite a fight.  I am planning on spending as much time as I can with him and my mother during this journey.  He is lucky enough to be a patient at MD Anderson in Houston, so I know he is getting the best possible care.

Time for me.  Thanks for all of you have reached out to me, offered to include me, introduced me, helped me and even those who have hindered me.  Time to reflect on all that and craft the big answer to “what’s next?”

– KK

One thought on “Me

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your father Katy. I wish him a speedy recovery.

    I understand where you’re coming from about taking a break. You need to put yourself first sister!

    I hope to see you at the big geek breakfast soon. I’d love to catch up with ya.

    Cheers,
    D

Leave a Reply

